30 Eylül 2012 Pazar

In the beginning there was nothing...

To contact us Click HERE
In the beginning there was nothing and then the light came.
This is a nice metaphor for creation, for the beginning of something new, nice. And i honestly hope that this is a beginning of something great.

So, where to begin? Well, I will not write everything about my past now. That will come between the lines of posts. But I can tell you now, that my life till now was full of turns and surprises.
And for sure one of the best turns that I make in my life is the last one. For sure, I'll never regret the decision to apply for Erasmus exchange.
And now that I'm finally here in Tampere, Finland, it's kinda awesome. Although I'm here only for two days now, a lot has happened and a lot is going to happened in this next weeks.

So this is the beginning, beginning of something nice, great and awesome.
See you around :)

Homemade always wins

To contact us Click HERE

I'm not saying that stuff made in restaurants isn't good, but homemade food is always so much better. Especially when you give your own flavor to it.

And so it happened that I have flatmate from China, and he invited some of his chines friends over and they made some traditional chines food for all. And as you can see on the photo, food looks good and let me tell you.....it was amazing. They made like five different dishes and all of them were so full of flavor and so delicious. And this was perfect for me, because I love chines food.

But this left me thinking. What can I make? Which dishes do I even know how to prepare. There is no conclusion yet, and that's because I'm preparing for myself usually only pasta and some quick dishes. And nothing even close to what they made.

Ok, I know how to make some traditional cakes and cookies. So it is time for me to start cooking, like really cook.


All this talk about food made me hungry. I'll go make something to eat.


See you around :D


Kirpputori has it all.

To contact us Click HERE

Kirpputori is a flea market or better second hand shops. But I just call them wonder shops.
Why? Well here in Tampere, and I guess in Finland you can find many second hand shops and in this shops, which are not large, you can find anything you can imagine. From used clothing to lamps and kitchen stuff, from toys to old
vinyls and from printers to paintings. Really anything you want or don’t want, they have it. And all this used stuff is very cheap. For example, this lamp on the picture was 1,5€ and it’s a great addition to my room.

And this shops are just one of the things how people in Finland reuse and recycle stuff. They are truly culture that we should have as an example.


See you around :)

Being away

To contact us Click HERE

This exchange is first of all the best experience in my life so far, and already I know that is going to be hard to top this. New friends, new cultures, new knowledge. Every day there is something new and interesting happening.

However, this exchange is also a challenge for me not just because of adaption to new environment, but also because is the first time that I had to leave behind an important part of my life – people who are close to me. May friends who always know what to say and are there for me when I need them. You all know who you are. So, thanks for being my friends. :)

But the hardest part was separating from my love. She who always puts smile on my face and make me love her even more.

Katja I love you with all my heart.

Thank you all :)

p.s Urša happy birthday :)

Assassin's Creed III

To contact us Click HERE


All Assassins Creed fans: 
 

If you have not noticed jet. Ubisoft revelled cover for just announced AC3 which comes out in October 30th. From the cover, we can see that it will be placed in America at time of American Revolution which took place in 1775 to 1781. IGN.com suspects that it will happened between 1777 to 1778. There are several clues that suggest that. Like flag in the back and uniforms of the solders. 












I must say, I am very excited for this new chapter of AC. I just love the way this new character looks. There are some strong Native American signs. However, I don’t know how will the gameplay be satisfying. In previous ACs we had lots of building to climb, high towers and so on.  But at this point in the history American colonies were not so populated. There were some cities, however none of them were anything like Venice, Rome or Constantinople.  But we’ll see. I thrust Ubisoft not to disappoint us. 


Today there were also some screen shoots leaked. They do reveal quite some more stuff, but this are still just some speculations. It seems that we will be able to climb threes and hunt. So for that surrounding areas will get stronger position. 
But most importantly, we know now that our targets are British soldiers and influencing figures. And our friend will be George Washington.
Also on Monday,5th of March they shall revel trailer with much more clues. 

29 Eylül 2012 Cumartesi

They've found me. Is that good?

To contact us Click HERE
So recently I've noticed that my YouTube channel has been getting exponentially more views, subscribers, and comments.  With this increased exposure, I've also noticed a distinct rise in immature comments ranging from a simple disagreement with a test I've run to flat out cursing for little reason.  It doesn't really phase me much, but it makes me wonder... if this is what happens when you become "famous", why are so many folks seemingly obsessed with the idea of becoming "famous"?

Prepare for a rant!

I've done my bit on blogging awhile ago and, while it still doesn't seem like some people "get it", I'll just let that one go.  Today's rant is about "internet fame".  I get folks giving me compliments, saying I'm their "favorite modder" and stuff like that and while I certainly don't claim superiority at all, it is nice to hear that folks enjoy what I'm doing from time to time.  I keep posting stuff because people tend to like what I'm doing/take interest in the projects that I do.  A side-effect of that is gaining popularity online and initially I really liked this idea because it spread the word about Nerf and Laser Tag... not my name.  I'm in this for the hobby, not to get a cheap buck on advertisements from the hits I get on the blog and YouTube channel.  It just doesn't seem right to me to make folks click the "Skip Ad" button or have banners in-between my posts promoting products on Amazon.  I suppose if I was wanting to get famous on the internet (which is a lame goal) I'd want to be making money off that, but it's not part of the plan.

The plan, as it always has been, is to promote Nerf and Laser Tag through the various games and projects I have with them.  While doing this has gotten me "famous" in some circles, it's just another side effect.  For those of you who look forward to what internet fame has in store for you, prepare for a lot of idiots screaming bloody murder at your work.  It's much more fulfilling if you just do what you love and let the hordes of trolls and morons bounce off you.  Or sometimes it's fun to mess with them too ;)

It's probably best to keep in mind that the ones who don't like what you're doing will yell the loudest.  It can often overpower the legions of folks who do actually like what they see.  Still, if sifting through the spam and trolls is your idea of fun, then internet fame was MADE for you.  I'll keep doing what I'm doing and let the haters hate.  The plan here is still the same: have fun with Nerf and Laser Tag.  Folks seem to like it, so I'll just keep on keepin' on!

MLTA's 7th Summer Season Concludes

To contact us Click HERE
What an awesome way to end the season!  Although Mother Nature still managed to land the hottest day of the week on our game yet again, it's still better than other games we've had this summer.  The extreme heat felt through the midwest certainly fatigued even our most seasoned players, but in the end, it's another successful run that I'm proud to have been a part of.


 Cookout was one of the best we've had, in my honest opinion.  Burgers, hot dogs, Gatorade, chips, cookies, we had all the bases covered. Great turnout too, with 21 people making it out, despite the heat.  We usually see a slight drop in attendance on the last game as some folks are already back into the swing of things with school and such.  Still had a great bunch of folks for the evening's activities.

Games went well, with the exception of one drawn-out "Veterans vs n00bs" game.  6 veterans on a team up against 13 of our newer players looked to be a fun game until everyone decided to hide instead of play the game.  Our last game of the night fixed that problem though, as we unveiled a new rule for our Zombies game.  With the LTXs and LTARs, if you leave the blaster on for too long without any activity (ie, shooting, reloading, taking hits), the blaster automatically turns itself off.  We made a rule for the Humans that traditionally like to stake out a spot and hide the duration of the game that you can only reload/fire when there's actually an enemy present.  While this is a nearly impossible rule to enforce, everyone took it to heart and played a great active game of Humans vs Zombies, lazer tag style!  It came down to the final minutes as the remaining Humans were fighting for their lives against the rest of the zombie horde.  Upon tagging them out in the last minute, we learned there was still one more human left.  By our rules, the humans still won since one of them survived.  It was still a great game though!

And now the MLTA recedes into it's "Off-Season" mode, planning Mod Nights to work on gear and getting the players together occasionally for a game or two as we eagerly await Season 8 in 2013.



What's on the Docket?

To contact us Click HERE
Across the board, things have been kinda quiet.  Not just on my blog, but my "Big 3" (SG Nerf, NM&R, Urban Taggers) have been kinda slow recently.  The reason?  Probably just that there's not a whole lot of new Nerf stuff out there and it's a transitional time.  Season is changing, kids are going back to school, and football nuts going to be living off of ESPN and Pepsi Max for awhile.  What am I up to?  Good question!

Right now, the MLTA (which I run) has just concluded it's 7th Summer Season and is now in "Off-Season" mode.  While we'll still have games every now and then, the focus shifts to MODS.  I really wanna get back to a few things that I had hoped to finish, like the Pulse Rifle, LTX EF5, and rewiring/repairing the LTX DMR to prep it for it's new owner.

I'm also working on a few things for our next Nerf game.  While my Elite Longshot is still likely going to be my primary for these games, the Elite Retaliator is really starting to grow on me.  It's been fun messing with different strength springs and testing stuff out, nothing set in stone, so I'll be sharing more info on that soon too.

Things in my personal life will be getting busier too.  My girlfriend (not married yet!  Rumor control!) has been studying abroad in Austria for the past 6 weeks.  Admittedly, I've had a lot more free time to spend on my hobbies to help distract me from the fact that she's been gone for so long.  She returns Wednesday which is great for me, not so much for my blog.  I'll also be getting a new job come September 1st, which will be taking a bit more of my time than my current job has.  While it's great for my wallet, I will have considerably less free time to shoot videos, do tests, and other blog-tastic stuff.

So that's where I'm at right now!  I've also got a big surprise for you guys coming up in early September, so while things might not be as busy as they have been in the past month or so, you might wanna keep tabs on the blog for that announcement that I'm kinda-sorta-really looking forward to.


Blog > YouTube

To contact us Click HERE
Not to bash any of my subscribers, viewers, and commentators on my YouTube channel, but ever since the "Nerf Retaliator vs Elite Longshot" video seemingly went Viral... I've had a flurry of comments asking where I bought the Elite Longshot, condemning me that the Elite Longshot isn't real, and just general abusive comments that I rarely see on this blog.

I suppose I can't completely blame the widespread ignorance about this blaster, since I did toy with Nerf Nation a bit by posting a doctored up picture that WingMaster made of it on the Facebook wall.  That, and I never really made a video explaining how I made the paintjob on it that has so many folks convinced that it's real.  My blog readers got a full post on that, which is another reason I probably haven't seen any outlandish statements about it.

I'd like to thank everyone who's been following the blog, defending the Elite Longshot on YouTube and just for your general support.  I'll keep trying to educate folks on the fact that the Elite Longshot is just a mod I made, nothing real.  On the one hand, I guess it's a compliment that so many folks are fooled by it's appearances.  However, in the fame that this video has picked up, it's been kind of annoying seeing all the hate out there, so I appreciate those who have been trying to save me the trouble of correcting the incorrect assumptions and condemnations that I'm a fraud somehow.

So thank you, Tactical Tag readers, for being smart, supportive, and sane.  It's been refreshing!

Hailfire?

To contact us Click HERE
Requirement for the Nerf Party was apparently
 looking like a JC Penny model.
So last week I saw a Hailfire on local shelves.  Not only did I realize that I hadn't really been looking for it, but even when I DID find it, I didn't have enough interest in it to buy it at the time.  Just seems awfully expensive for a blaster of it's size and for the accessories (or lack thereof) that it comes with.

On the one hand, the tinkerer in me wants to see how this rotating clip thing works.  However, I'm finding that's really the only reason I'm remotely interested in picking one up.  There's already a lot of great reviews out there and I'm not really a fan of repeating old news... so here's my charge to you:

I'll pick up the Hailfire if YOU can think of some tests I could do with it that haven't been done yet.  That'd really be the only thing that would motivate me to drop ~50 dollars on the flagship of the Elite Lineup.

Oh, and where have I been the last week?  My girlfriend is finally back in town, getting my schedule set up for my new job and my music gigs/shows coming up, chasing storms, and having fun with Subarus.  Consider last week my "Vacation" from hobbies!  I'll be back with something on Monday (August 27th).

28 Eylül 2012 Cuma

Making Elite Accessories

To contact us Click HERE
Do they improve performance?  No, not really.  Do they look awesome in photos?  You bet!  I've been a fan of working on blaster aesthetics for awhile.  From the Yellow Longstrike barrel I made to the Whiteout Spectre, a lot of my mods have been aimed at making them look stock... and tricked out.  Today I tried doing a little more with Elite Accessories.  I already made an "Elite" stock out of a Raider and the Super Soaker stock, so I decided to give similar treatment to my Longstrike Barrel and a blue Longshot scope.

I actually stopped mid-way through working on the scope because I just didn't really like how it turned out.  I painted all the yellow spots on the sight white and started working on detailing, but I just stopped.  The hue is a bit too dark to match the rest of the blaster anyways.  You'll notice I didn't even bother finishing painting the yellow bit behind the fake orange knob on the sight.  I may try to add some dark gray in there to help make this accessory not quite so... ugly.  However, I'm not really motivated to do much with it since it doesn't match well with the blaster's blue color anyways.

The Longstrike barrel, on the other hand, looks great!  I blackened out the yellow Nerf logo on it and added a white stripe that lines up with the Retaliator's paintjob.  Up close, you can tell that the colors aren't quite exact, as the Nerf paint is a bit brighter than the Kyrlon Fusion I used.  Still, I really like how it turned out.  I've always liked the look of the Longstrike barrel on a Recon anyways.

LT Website comes up short

To contact us Click HERE
Hasbro has launched the "official" Lazer Tag website.  While it's good to have online presence, the website itself overlooks a major factor that I see as a marketing flaw that is reflected in their advertisements abroad, including the box.  Take a look around the website and what you'll find is a complete lack of anything indicating that this can be used without the iOS device.  To show you how confident I am, I'll give an LTAR blaster to the first person who can show me on the website where they show the LTAR being used without an iOS Cradle.  Even in the videos, if you can find a screenshot of the blaster without an iOS, I'll gladly send you your own LTAR.
The only mention of the LTAR being able to function without an iPod or iPhone is in small white text on the side of the box.  Nowhere on the website or in any commercial is there ANY mention of using the blaster like this.  Even in the FAQ section they completely glaze over the fact that the LTAR works without the iOS, which seems to be the main deterrence for sales of this new system.



The MLTA has been using the LTAR in games recently with great success.  95% of the time, blasters are used without the iOS and work and perform just fine in games.  They're simple to use and work great in our team games.  So, since Hasbro won't tell you... I suppose it's up to Tactical Tag.  Help me spread the word about the LTAR and get the confusion out of the way.  The LTAR is great with or without the iOS!

Below are videos of all the testing I've done on the LTAR.  Feel free to share them!  Thanks for your support!




Hailfire: Crunching Numbers

To contact us Click HERE
Last night I finally decided to pick up the Elite Hailfire, the flagship of the N-Strike Elite lineup.  It's been out for a little while and I didn't really have an interest in it.  However, the completionist in me wanted to finish my Elite collection, so I picked it up to see what all the fuss was about.

Ever since I opened the box and started messing around with different loadouts in the Hailfire's 8-clip rotating loading system, I've been experimenting with combinations of various clip sizes that have really shown me how versatile this blaster can be.  This is certainly a fun blaster for folks who enjoy tinkering with the multitude of clip sizes Nerf has made over the past few years.  While the blaster is not free of flaws that keep it from really being "The Pinnacle of Nerf Innovation", there is much potential in this blaster to meet the needs of many.

First, let's crunch some numbers.

If you can manage to get your hands on 8 of the 18 Dart Clips, you've got the highest capacity Nerf blaster... ever.  144 rounds is unfathomable in the Nerf world.  You'd need to link 6 Vulcan chains to beat that kind of firepower which, in my experience, is just a horrible idea anyways since the Vulcan's chain loading cog isn't very strong and struggles even with just my 75 round chain.  While 144 darts at your disposal may sound like fun, there are a few setbacks to consider.
Straight clips are definitely the way to go with the Hailfire

  1. Hailfire is Semi Auto... which means you have to pull that trigger 144 times.  Doing it all in one run is going to give you arthritis
  2. Having all of those clips installed in the Hailfire makes it clunky and cumbersome to wield
  3. Good luck finding 144 darts when you're done spamming the battlefield!
On the other hand, going with 8 of the 6 round clips, as suggested by the way Hasbro has been marketing the Hailfire with it's "Hailfire Upgrade Kit", isn't too bad.  Rounding ammo out at 48 darts, it's still got the highest capacity of any other dart blaster.  Only problem is the reloading interval is a lot closer now.  With the 6 dart clips, you're having to spend a lot of time with the clunky clip rotation mechanism, which has it's own set of problems.  
The rotating clip system in this blaster, while Innovative, isn't very reliable.  Even with the standard 4 clips loaded that it comes with (6 dart clips), it has issues with improper rotation.  The mechanism is like that of the rotating turret seen in the Maverick, Hyperfire, and Spectre, and since it's dealing with MUCH more weight and momentum, the rotating problems that those blasters sometimes had is magnified.  The problem is mainly present when you're either A: trying to switch through clips quickly or B: if you're using higher capacity magazines and drums.  The higher weight of these larger capacity clips like the 18 round clip or the 35 round Drum means that they have more momentum when they're spinning around the Hailfire's rotating clip system.  It sometimes ends up re-loading the empty clip you just finished using if you're not careful with it.  This is a problem that could plague you in the heat of the game, which is when you need your blaster to be very reliable.
I've used this method before, but I definitely suggest using "marked" darts to signal when you need to reload clips, especially when using higher capacity clips.  Put an orange streamline or white glow streamline at the bottom of the clip's capacity so that you know when to reload.  You can also use the clear cover on top of the blaster to let you know when you're spent on ammo.  I would not suggest using the 18 round Firefly Tech clip with Elite Darts loaded into it for the simple fact that the clip is gray and it's tough to see when you're out of ammo if you want to look through the clear panel on top.  
To be most effective with the Hailfire, you need to decide what role you want to play in the game.  Maxing out the Hailfire with 8 of the 18 round Clips is not always the best way to go.  If you want to go into combat and be versatile, it's probably best to go with a lighter setup.  If you want to sit back and take a gunner's position with long intervals between reloading, you might want to camp with 4 of the 35 round Drums loaded in it (if you can manage to GET 4 of those).  Perhaps you want to mix your loadout with a combination of sizes.  
Good luck with trying to use accessories on this fella.  The grip on top pretty much negates the use of any aiming device and the rail in front is so tiny that it can really only use the Retaliator's foregrip or the Stampede's Bipod.  They're really just there to make it look "Tacti-cool".  I have, however, managed to use the Lightningstorm shield on the front pretty well, so if you've got that Super Soaker, you could go with that option.
I've got more tests planned for the Hailfire, so keep it here!

Unloading 144 Darts!

To contact us Click HERE
Alright, I need a new trigger finger.  Anyone got one they can loan me?  But I digress... I decided to load up my newly acquired Hailfire with 144 darts.  I don't have 8 of the 18 Dart Clips lying around, so I cheated by putting an extra dart in a 35 round drum and used 6 other 18 round Clips.  Unfortunately, during the test, the Firefly Tech clip decided to not feed correctly, so I didn't get a 100% accurate test.  Still, if you've got the stamina in your trigger finger and nothing jams and you can swap from clip to clip with no problems, you can dish out 144 darts in just under a minute.  While I realize that there's no combat situation where you would need to do such a thing, it's really just a testament to how long you could last in a game armed to the teeth with this Hailfire.

Below is a video of this test.  Now, if you'll excuse me... I have one hundred and forty four darts to go pick up.

Plan-a-saurus Rex

To contact us Click HERE
While I may not have been super busy with games, projects, or otherwise, don't think I've forgotten about it!  Life right now is a little busy, what with a new job, music gigs coming out my ears, moving into a new place, and just general life craziness, I haven't had time to actually pick up a blaster and mod it or have a game with friends recently.  Whilst running through this hobby drought, I do have a few things coming up quickly.

The first of those is a laser tag game coming up on October 14th.  There's also our Halloween Laser Tag game coming up on October 28th, so it'll be nice to tag it up outdoors again.

Next in line is related to that Halloween Laser Tag game.  Progress is slowly coming along on my Colonial Marine costume.  I have a few ideas on how to build/replicate the distinctive armor they used in the film and the Pulse Rifle isn't too far off from completion.

Lastly, a few friends have unofficially started organizing indoor and outdoor Nerf games too.  We'll be having more games and more modifications coming up as a result of that.

So while there's nothing really to report as far as games or gear for my hobbies, that's what's been on my "to do" list.  My other life commitments definitely take precedence over them, but I certainly haven't forgotten any of it!

27 Eylül 2012 Perşembe

Labor Dabor!

To contact us Click HERE
September 3rd is Labor Day (US) which means we get a 3 day weekend!  Well, as it turns out, I'm helping plan a Nerf Game that'll actually be outdoors, as opposed to our usual indoor Nerf Games that I partake in.  A friend mentioned that he wanted to do a game at a park with some friends, so naturally I wanted to join them.

I've only done a handful of outdoor games and each time they've been only 5 or 6 people at the most and at the end of the game, I end up wishing we had used laser tag instead.  With their limited range, the cleanup of the darts, and the general inaccuracy that is worsened by the slightest breeze, I choose laser tag over Nerf in an outdoor setting any day.  While I do recognize that there are homemade blasters and darts that can offer better performance that is more suited for an outdoor setting, it doesn't help that no-one else around me modifies blasters like that.  I could be a "Trendsetter" and be the first that would likely trigger others to do the same, but most of the folks who play Nerf with us also play Laser Tag, so we tend to stick with that for our outdoor games.  However, with better turnout anticipated for this game, I might have to start Nerfing outdoors.  I'll just have to see how this game pans out!

  I'll have pictures and details about it tomorrow!  In the meantime, have a great Labor Day weekend!  And if you're of the international flavor, have a great normal weekend!

N-Strike Elite: Recolors and Retooling

To contact us Click HERE
Well, the N-Strike lineup isn't exactly free of recolors, but at least up until now they've been promoted as just that: alternate coloration variants of your favorite blasters.  TheWhiteout Series, the Sonic Series, the Clear Series, all of the other N-Strike recolors haven't really tried to BE anything else but that.

The N-Strike Elite Lineup, I had hoped, would just be launched with some retooled blasters.  The Retaliator (Recon), Rampage (Raider), and Stockade (Barricade) were all just updated versions of their N-Strike counterparts.  While these are still more than just a recolor, since they have improved performance with better internals, there's not a whole lot of  "wow" factor to them outside of that.  The Elite Lineup has really only had one "unique" design come through in the Hail-Fire.  The Firestrike and Strongarm are both new shell designs, but they're based on tried-and-true N-Strike blasters (the Nitefinder and Maverick, respectively) and now we've got another recolor: the Pinpoint Sight.

While I can't say I'm surprised, I am slightly bummed that the majority of the N-Strike Elite lineup has turned out to be nothing more than retooling and recoloring stuff that's been on the market for awhile now.  While I still like everything that's coming out... I find myself really just wanting to replace my N-Strike stuff for Elite gear instead of have it ADD to my collection, you know?  I'm curious.  What are your thoughts on the progression of the Elite series?


Post Game Report: 9-3-12

To contact us Click HERE
Loaned my OMW Longstrike to a friend for the game
On Labor Day a few friends got together to have an outdoor Nerf match.  As you know, I play games indoors, so this was an interesting opportunity for me.  We had plenty of space, even parked a few cars out in an empty lot to act as barricades and cover during the match.  No-one had any homemade blasters, just stock and modified Nerf-brand blasters using stock darts.  It was what I expected, lots of dodging darts on poor trajectories, getting the jump on folks caught reloading, and a massive cleanup.  However, after we were done with our outdoor games, we moved indoors and had a blast in a large unfinished basement.  The whole event really just solidified why I do what I do: Nerf indoors, Laser Tag outdoors.

The game host, decked out a little TOO much
There were 10 of us total at the event, nothing big or fancy.  I didn't manage to get a full group shot of the players, as I was just too busy playing the game and finding all our darts.  It was fun, but I definitely preferred the indoor games.   The indoor setting was a large unfinished basement.  We would have one team start inside and have the attacking team enter through the double doors to the walk-in basement.  The doors were metal and rusty, so we would actually kick open the doors to start each round.  From there, it was a lights-out battle to clear the room that was fun for both sides.  A large room to enter into, a second large unfinished room, and a long narrow unlit hallway to connect the two areas made for some exciting games and interesting strategies.

However, there was a casualty amidst the fun.  The OMW Longstrike's breech broke, in the same place as it had before.  This is the replacement part Orange Mod Works sent me and even while the blaster is using thew 5kg spring instead of the original 6kg spring and using the Xplorer top-grip to single-hand prime the blaster while keeping pressure even to both sides, the kit still failed.  I am extremely unhappy with this result and will likely not even bother asking for another replacement from them.  It also has me rethinking the long-standing pre-order on the Immortal Longshot kit, as my faith in OMW has been dwindling ever since the kit delays in January of 2012.  It has been nothing but overpriced products with long delays and failing parts the past few months.  I'm seriously reconsidering doing any future business with OMW when it comes to their kits (aside from springs, which I don't think they're capable of screwing up).  After every precaution was taken with this Longstrike, the same failure happens.

Out with the New, in with the Old

To contact us Click HERE
Deja vu?  Nope, just more crappy parts
To the left is the replacement Orange Mod Works Longstrike Massacre breech.  Earlier, in my Massacred post, I had this same breakage on this kit with a 6kg spring.  Admittedly, I was trying to single-hand prime the bolt-action Longstrike and this likely put stress on the part where it broke.  When I received the replacement breech, I installed it with a 5kg spring instead and used the Xplorer rapid-fire grip designed for the Longstrike.  I used it and tested it out a little bit, but nothing too serious.  A few days ago, I let a trustworthy friend borrow my Xplorer/OMW Whiteout Longstrike and during the game it ended up busting at the same point.  He's not known to be rough or inconsiderate to my blasters (I wouldn't have let him borrow the blaster if that were the case) but it jammed mid-way through the game and after I took a look at it, I couldn't believe to see the same break I had experienced before.

Today I decided to open it up and fix this.  I removed the bolt sled and breech, peeled off the OMW logo that had once donned the top-grip before, and re-installed the stock parts.  I probably won't even bother asking for a replacement part at this point, as I have no desire to continue to run unreliable parts in my Whiteout Longstrike.  I'll be keeping the 5kg spring, the OMW plunger tube (since I haven't seen any of those break) and the metal catch and discarding the leftover breech parts. I thought about using the bolt sled, but it seemed like more work than it was worth at the time.

There was still a dart trapped inside the breech, so I decided to get it out.

video
Once I put the blaster back together, I tested it out with some Elite darts and set it aside for it's next game.  I'm pretty confident it'll be more reliable in it's current state to whomever I end up loaning it out to. I have also decided to cancel my Immortal Longshot kit I've ordered from them.  Experience with OMW tells me that regardless of how much time they spend on testing out these parts (which was the main delay on the Massacre kits) that it'll still be an unreliable and breakage-prone design.  I'll let someone else be the guinea pig for that release.

Fun in the Fine Arts Building!

To contact us Click HERE
Yesterday I hosted an indoor Lazer Tag game for "FAUST", a university theater club on campus, that engulfed the stairwells and hallways of the Fine Arts building in battle.  I've been running games, when asked by their event coordinators, for about 3 years now and it's always a great time!  We actually had quite the equipment shortage going on thanks to the epic turnout, so we improvised a few fun games to make up for this.

24 in total attendance along with myself and an MLTA veteran who's been helping me run games like this for quite awhile.  We had all of our LTXs out, as well as our two LTARs and 4 backup LTTO Deluxes running for these games.  We had a rolling respawn team game that worked out pretty well, but the best events we had was "Horde Mode".  We Split the group of 24 up into 6 teams of 4.  Each team got a chance to battle the "horde" and see how long they could survive against them.  The Survival Team of 4 was set on 25 hits and were outfitted with Shotblasts on their LTXs.  The Horde Team of the remaining 20 players were set on 10 hits and basic equipment with unlimited respawns.

Things initially started off in favor of the Survival team, as the horde was largely unorganized and were getting picked off pretty quickly.  By the second round, the horde had a plan to take out the survival team by sweeping each of the 4 floors as rapidly as possible and alerting other players when they had found the survival team to hone in on their position.  Thanks to the building layout and it's massive staircases, the horde mode quickly found that speed was starting to work against them, as their players were exhausted from sprinting up and down flights of stairs.  By the 3rd and 4th rounds, the horde had slowed back down and the time was favoring the survival teams.  The best survival team by the end of the night was just under 18 minutes, which was largely due to the last survivor's expert run-and-gun tactics.

Either way, it was a great event for FAUST!  There are also talks of another indoor AND outdoor game with us in the Spring semester, so I'm excited to do that again for the Theater folks.  They were great to work with and played well!

Next up is another outdoor game for the off-season MLTA players!